Get Some Sleep!

Image

Everyone’s sleep needs are different.  Some people might be able to function on 6 hours of sleep.  Not us!  We both need and treasure our 8-9 hours of sleep each night.

Not getting the recommended 8 hours of sleep per night every once in a while may not be a big deal, however, if you are consistently not meeting your body’s need for sleep, you may be putting your health at risk.

Personally, I NEED at least 8 hours of sleep each night.  If I don’t get that, I’m a big grouch.  I wake up knowing I haven’t gotten my sleep and that the day ahead has the potential to be a disaster.  I’m tired and have no energy which makes for a long day.  I find it hard to concentrate and make simple decisions.  Lack of sleep definitely affects my healthy lifestyle.  When I’m tired, I’m much more likely to make unhealthy decisions when it comes to eating.  If someone puts cupcakes in front of my face and asks if I want one, I’m much more likely to say yes than if I’ve gotten a good night’s rest.   I’m too tired to workout so I tend to either give myself the day off or have a lazy workout and end up leaving the gym 15 minutes after I get there.

What can a lack of sleep lead to?

There are several ways that losing sleep can affect your mind and body:

  • You’ll feel fatigued and lack motivation: Eh, I’ll skip my workout today.
  • You’ll be Oscar the grouch: you’ll be irritable, impatient, & have trouble concentrating.
  • Difficulty making decisions/problem solving: Sure, I’ll have a cupcake!
  • Your weight: Along with being more likely to eat something you would typically avoid, losing sleep can affect your metabolism which affects your weight.  It may even lead to an increase in your appetite.
  • Lack of sleep affects your immune system which can lead to disease and frequent colds.
  • Inability to cope with stress
  • Ages you: Not getting enough shut eye can lead to dull skin, fine lines and dark, puffy circles under your eyes.  Not pretty.

Getting enough sleep every night can improve your health, mood, and the overall quality of your life.  If you want to live a productive, happy, and healthy life, make sure to get your sleep!

Image

For more information, go to:

http://www.health.harvard.edu/press_releases/importance_of_sleep_and_health

http://www.helpguide.org/life/sleeping.htm

Leave a Reply

